Shark Tank is an American reality television series that premiered on August 9, 2009 on ABC. Shark Tank is replayed on CNBC every night, and is a franchise of the international format Dragons’ Den, which originated in Japan in 2001. Shark Tank shows aspiring entrepreneurs as they make business presentations to a panel of five “shark” investors, who then choose whether to invest and negotiate as business partners.

Shark Tank has been a ratings success and has won the Primetime Emmy Award for Outstanding Structured Reality Program four times, from 2014 through 2017 — all four years of that category’s existence. Prior to that, from 2012 to 2013, Shark Tank won Outstanding Reality Program.

Shark Tank was renewed for a ninth season, premiering on October 1, 2017 with a time slot change from Friday night to Sunday night. On January 8, 2018, the series was renewed for a tenth season.