Watch the official music video for a-ha “Take On Me”! At the 1986 MTV Video Music Awards, the video for “Take on Me” won six awards—Best New Artist in a Video, Best Concept Video, Most Experimental Video, Best Direction, Best Special Effects, and Viewer’s Choice—and was nominated for two others, Best Group Video and Video of the Year. Take On Me was also nominated for Favorite Pop/Rock Video at the 13th American Music Awards in 1986.

A-ha (usually stylized as a-ha; Norwegian pronunciation: [ɑˈhɑː]) is a Norwegian band formed in Oslo in 1982. Founded by Morten Harket (vocals, guitars), Magne Furuholmen (keyboards, guitars) and Paul Waaktaar-Savoy (guitars), the band rose to fame during the mid-1980s after being discovered by musician and producer John Ratcliff, and continued its global success in the 1990s and 2000s.

A-ha in 1985 produced two international number-one singles: “Take On Me” and “The Sun Always Shines on TV”; and earned the band a Grammy Award nomination as Best New Artist. The music video for Take on Me was a break out in special effects, and a classic symbolizing the crossover of reality and virtual reality.

Major accomplishments
10 studio albums,

4 live albums,

several compilations.

Earned an estimated 500 million Norwegian Kroner from concert tickets, merchandise and the release of a greatest hits album, making them one of the 40–50 largest grossing bands in the world in 2010.

Performed with biggest rock concert attendance, drawing an audience of 198,000 at Maracanã Stadium during Rock in Rio festival in 2010.

Longest live note held by a-ha singer Morten Harket, who held a note in “Summer Moved On” for 20.2 seconds listed in the Guinness World Records book in 2001.

Sold 55 million records, according to Rhino, their label.

‘Summer Moved On’ Live at the Oslo Spektrum — Promotional trailer from the ‘Ending on a High Note – The Final Concert’ live DVD.

Triggered in your brain by Summer Moved On might be your memory of Tasmin Archer’s Sleeping Satellite.